Skip to content
Technology · Global

Blacksmith raises $66 million as Sequoia leads funding at $1 billion valuation

Blacksmith, a startup building continuous integration and delivery infrastructure, raised $66 million in a round led by Sequoia at a $1 billion valuation, up from a reported $550 million valuation in August.

AI-assisted synthesis · Based on 5 outlets' reporting · Article text read from 2 of 5 outletsHow it's made

View timeline · 4 entries
5 outlets2 regionsLatest reporting 3 min read
Coverage: Too few ratedL 0 · C 1 · R 0 · 4 unrated
Updat3 graphic: Testing Startup Blacksmith
Updat3 graphic

What happened

Key facts

  • Blacksmith raised $66 million in a Series C led by Sequoia Capital at a $1 billion valuation (per startupfortune.com, cryptobriefing.com).
  • About two months before the Series C, Blacksmith raised $45 million in a Series B led by Peak XV Partners at a $550 million valuation (per startupfortune.com).
  • Blacksmith's total funding is about $124.5 million (per startupfortune.com).
  • Blacksmith was founded in 2024 (per startupfortune.com).
  • Cofounder and CEO Aditya Jayaprakash told Fortune that Blacksmith's revenue is in the tens of millions (per startupfortune.com).
  • Blacksmith's customer count rose from roughly 5,000 companies in August to more than 10,000 (per startupfortune.com).

The brief

Blacksmith raised $66 million in a Series C led by Sequoia Capital at a $1 billion valuation, placing the software-testing startup among companies valued at that level. The deal follows a $45 million Series B led by Peak XV Partners at a $550 million valuation about two months earlier. Blacksmith’s total funding now stands at about $124.5 million.

The financing marks a rapid rise in the company’s valuation between its two rounds. Blacksmith was founded in 2024, according to Fortune’s account, which reported the fundraising details. The company’s cofounder and CEO, Aditya Jayaprakash, told Fortune that revenue is in the tens of millions.

Fortune also reported that Blacksmith’s annual recurring revenue had grown 17 times since August. Its customer count increased from roughly 5,000 companies in August to more than 10,000, according to the outlet.

Those measures offer a view of the company’s reported growth alongside the valuation, though the coverage does not specify the underlying revenue figures or the terms of the round beyond its size, lead investor and valuation. The outlets emphasize different aspects of the milestone.

Fortune focuses on the fundraising sequence, the company’s reported revenue growth and customer numbers. News.Lavx instead presents the valuation as evidence that AI-generated code is becoming part of engineering infrastructure rather than remaining experimental.

It argues that engineering teams are adopting AI writing tools faster than they can test their output, and says Blacksmith is aimed at that gap. The funding details in Fortune’s report provide concrete measures of Blacksmith’s recent expansion, while News.Lavx offers a broader interpretation of the market opportunity.

The two accounts describe the company’s role differently: Fortune calls it a startup providing testing infrastructure used before companies ship code, while News.Lavx centers the story on the challenge of validating AI-written software. Neither account provides a breakdown of the $66 million’s planned use.

Sequoia Capital led the Series C, and Peak XV Partners led the earlier Series B. The reported jump from a $550 million valuation to $1 billion, together with the increase in customer count and recurring revenue described by Fortune, forms the main evidence in the coverage for Blacksmith’s growth.

News.Lavx’s account connects that funding milestone to the expanding use of AI coding tools, but does not provide separate adoption figures.

The reporting leaves the immediate next steps tied to the company’s execution: whether Blacksmith can sustain the growth in customers and recurring revenue that Fortune describes, and whether demand for testing AI-generated code develops as News.Lavx’s framing suggests.

The coverage does not state a timetable or identify a specific company decision scheduled after the financing.

Why it matters

  • Blacksmith’s customer count rose from roughly 5,000 companies in August to more than 10,000, while Fortune reported annual recurring revenue growth of 17 times since August; those are concrete indicators of the business’s expansion.
  • The funding sequence moved from a $45 million Series B at a $550 million valuation to a $66 million Series C at a $1 billion valuation, with Sequoia Capital and Peak XV Partners leading the respective rounds.
  • News.Lavx links Blacksmith’s opportunity to testing AI-written code, describing engineering teams adopting AI writing tools faster than they can test the output.

What to watch next

  • Whether Blacksmith sustains the customer growth from roughly 5,000 companies in August to more than 10,000 reported by Fortune.
  • Whether Blacksmith maintains the annual recurring revenue growth Fortune reported as 17 times since August.
  • Whether adoption of AI writing tools and the demand for testing their output develop as News.Lavx describes.

How it's being covered

Coverage analysisShow details
5 source articles · 5 unique outlets
Outlet political mix: Too few rated· 1 Center · 4 unrated
Where the outlets are based: US/Canada 60% · Europe 20% · Other 20%
Outlet political mix
Too few rated
Left
Center
Right
0 outlets
1 outlet
0 outlets
The marker shows coverage balance: each unique outlet counts once. 4 unrated outlets are not included.
Geography
Where the outlets covering this story are based.
5 unique outletsDominant coverage: US/Canada
How we measure coverage

How outlets' accounts compare

1 framing difference · 2 uncorroborated claims
The reports repeat the same account with different emphasis; its central claims are not independently confirmed in the reporting Updat3 read.Compared across 2 reports whose article text Updat3 read; 3 other outlets were checked by headline only.
Framing / emphasis differences
Sources emphasise different angles, actors or consequences of the same reporting.
  • Fortune emphasizes the financing history, revenue growth and customer count; News.Lavx frames the valuation as evidence that AI-generated code is moving into infrastructure and focuses on testing needs.
Updat3: These are differences of emphasis, not disputes about what is reported. They do not show that the reported claims are true.
One-sided or uncorroborated claims
Claims that come from one party or one source family and are not independently corroborated.
  • Aditya Jayaprakash told Fortune that revenue is in the tens of millions.
  • News.Lavx claims engineering teams are adopting AI writing tools faster than they can test the output.
Updat3: Not independently corroborated yet — treat as a claim, not an established fact.

Timeline

Developments from this story's sources, dated background we compiled and fact-checked, and our earlier coverage. Each row says which.
  1. GitHub announced GitHub Actions for automating software workflows.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  2. GitHub made GitHub Actions generally available.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  3. The company was founded in 2024 to build infrastructure for continuous integration and delivery (CI/CD), the process of automatically testing and deploying software changes.
    Background · from our historical context
  4. Blacksmith raised a $45 million Series B led by Peak XV Partners at a reported $550 million valuation.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3

How we got here

Before Blacksmith’s later financing, it closed a $45 million Series B in August at a reported $550 million valuation, with Peak XV Partners leading the round. The company was founded in 2024 to build infrastructure for continuous integration and delivery (CI/CD), the process of automatically testing and deploying software changes.

GitHub introduced GitHub Actions in 2018 and made it generally available in 2019, giving developers a built-in way to automate software workflows, including testing and deployment. Blacksmith’s business emerged from that demand: it provides cloud-hosted runners that execute CI jobs, including workflows built for GitHub Actions.

Original sources

5 articles from 5 outlets

Every story links to the reporting it was built from. How we choose sources

Spotted a factual error, a broken link or a misleading summary? Tell us.