Payward signs agreement to buy Saldo Finance Oy, plans to expand EU banking services
Payward signed a definitive agreement to acquire Saldo Finance Oy, the holding company that owns Lithuania-licensed Saldo Bank. The deal, announced on October 14 and subject to regulatory approvals and customary closing conditions, is expected to close in 2027 and would let Payward offer deposits, lending, card issuance and banking-as-a-service across European markets.
AI-assisted synthesis · Based on 4 outlets' reporting · Full text read from 2 of 4 outletsHow it's made
What happened
Key facts
- Payward signed an agreement to acquire Saldo Finance Oy, the holding company that owns Saldo Bank (per financemagnates.com, crypto.news, Yahoo).
- Payward announced the agreement on October 14 (per crypto.news).
- Saldo Bank is licensed in Lithuania and operates in Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany with authorization to extend services to the Netherlands (per financemagnates.com, crypto.news).
- The transaction is expected to close in 2027 and is subject to regulatory approvals and customary closing conditions (per financemagnates.com, crypto.news).
- Financial terms of the transaction were not disclosed (per financemagnates.com, crypto.news).
- If completed, Payward Banking would offer deposits, consumer and SME lending, card issuance, SEPA payments access, embedded lending for fintechs and banking-as-a-service (per financemagnates.com, crypto.news).
- Arjun Sethi, Co-CEO of Payward, said a regulated EU bank is central to serving European clients and integrating fiat-and-crypto services (per financemagnates.com, crypto.news).
- Payward says its existing financial infrastructure includes an Irish EMI license and access to the Federal Reserve (per crypto.news).
The brief
Payward, the parent company of the Kraken cryptocurrency exchange, has signed a definitive agreement to acquire Saldo Finance Oy, the holding company that owns Lithuania-licensed Saldo Bank.
Payward publicly announced the agreement on October 14; both outlets reporting the deal say it is subject to regulatory approvals and customary closing conditions and is expected to close in 2027. Financial terms of the transaction were not disclosed in the announcements.
Saldo Bank holds a Lithuanian banking licence and operates across Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany, with authorization to extend services to the Netherlands. Payward and Saldo Bank executives framed the deal as combining Saldo Bank’s licensed, passported presence in several European markets with Payward’s regulated financial infrastructure.
Jarkko Mäensivu, president of Saldo Bank, said the acquisition would connect the lender’s established operations with Payward’s regulated infrastructure, and Arjun Sethi, Co-CEO of Payward, said a regulated EU bank is central to serving European clients and integrating fiat-and-crypto services.
Reporters noted specific product capabilities Payward says the combined business would offer: deposit accounts, consumer and small-and-medium-enterprise lending, card issuance, SEPA payments access, embedded lending for fintechs and banking-as-a-service.
Payward also says it already operates under an Irish EMI licence and has access to the Federal Reserve, which the company presents as part of its existing regulated payments and banking infrastructure. Both news accounts stress the transaction hinges on approvals from European regulators; neither article supplies a timetable beyond the 2027 expected close or a deal price.
Sourced coverage highlights that Saldo Bank’s passporting rights across EU markets underpin Payward’s rationale for buying a bank rather than continuing to rely solely on non-bank financial licences.
The reporting does not include independent verification of regulatory timelines, and no source provides customer-level details such as deposit volumes, loan book size or the balance-sheet impact the acquisition would have on Payward.
Headlines from other outlets corroborated that Payward plans to acquire a European bank, but they did not add further factual detail beyond the agreement announcement.
Why it matters
- European retail and SME customers of Kraken and Payward could gain access to euro-denominated deposit and lending products through a regulated Lithuanian bank, which is documented as operating in Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany and authorised for the Netherlands.
- Payward would be able to offer card issuance, SEPA payments and banking-as-a-service, a commercial mechanism that can expand fintech distribution channels and embed Payward’s services into other fintechs’ products, according to the companies’ statements.
- Acquiring a Lithuania-licensed bank creates regulatory exposure and requires approvals from European authorities, a documented hurdle that could delay or block the transaction and thereby affect Payward’s timeline to scale euro-area banking services.
- Payward’s existing Irish EMI licence and reported access to the Federal Reserve provide documented, differing regulatory footprints that could shape which services Payward routes through the acquired bank versus existing licences.
What to watch next
- Whether European banking regulators approve the Saldo Finance Oy acquisition and on what timetable, noting the deal is subject to regulatory approvals.
- Whether Payward and Saldo disclose financial terms or balance-sheet metrics ahead of closing in 2027, given both sources say financial terms were not disclosed.
- Whether Saldo Bank’s planned card expansion into Sweden by 2027 proceeds under Payward ownership, as reported by financemagnates.com.
- Whether Payward integrates SEPA payments, deposit-taking and embedded lending into its existing Irish EMI and Federal Reserve-connected infrastructure, as the company has described.
How it's being covered
Coverage analysisShow details4 source articles · 4 unique outletsCoverage mix: Too few rated· 1 CenterWhere the outlets are based: US/Canada 50% · Europe 25% · Other 25%
How outlets' accounts compare
2 framing differences · 3 uncorroborated claims · 3 information gaps- financemagnates.com frames the acquisition as positioning Payward as one of the first major crypto exchanges to directly own a fully licensed EU bank; crypto.news reports the deal and focuses on the formal agreement date and regulatory conditions without that competitive framing.
- Both sources present the acquisition as a strategic move by Payward to obtain a regulated EU banking licence; neither source documents a prior regulatory denial or specific trigger that forced an acquisition rather than organic licensing.
- financemagnates.com attributes the strategic rationale to Arjun Sethi, Co-CEO of Payward; crypto.news includes a comment from Jarkko Mäensivu, president of Saldo Bank, describing the connection of operations and Payward’s infrastructure.
- "Payward Banking is not a new ambition – it is a business we have been building license by license, market by market," said Arjun Sethi.
- "A banking license is only as valuable as what you build on top of it," said Jarkko Mäensivu.
- No source provides independent data on Saldo Bank’s deposit volumes, loan book size, capital adequacy or other balance-sheet figures that would show the acquisition’s financial impact.
- No source includes statements from relevant European banking supervisors or specific regulators about how they will evaluate the transaction.
- No source mentions customer protections, integration plans for custody or crypto-related services, or how existing Kraken compliance structures will fold into a licensed bank.
How we got here
Immediate backdrop: on October 14, 2026 Payward stated it already operated with an Irish electronic money institution (EMI) authorization and had established access to the Federal Reserve, positioning the firm to seek a full banking license within the European Union ahead of the announced agreement.
Structural roots: the Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA), established in 2008, and the Revised Payment Services Directive (PSD2), adopted in 2015 and nationally implemented by EU states by 2018, create the cross-border payments and access-to-payments framework that enables a Lithuania‑licensed bank to offer euro deposits, SEPA transfers and card services across EU members.
Original sources
4 articles from 4 outletsEvery story links to the reporting it was built from. How we choose sources
Spotted a factual error, a broken link or a misleading summary? Tell us.