Skip to content
Health · North America

FDA recalls 4.3 million toothpaste tubes across 17 product varieties

The FDA announced 17 voluntary nationwide recalls covering 4,301,700 tubes of Brush Buddies, evo and ARU toothpaste. The FDA cited manufacturing-practice deviations, and a separate report said it classified the recall as Class II, a category associated with potentially temporary or medically reversible health effects.

AI-assisted synthesis · Based on 2 independent reports from 4 outletsHow it's made

View timeline · 6 entries
4 outletsLatest reporting 3 min read
Coverage: Center OnlyL 0 · C 4 · R 0
File photo
Photo: The U.S. Food and Drug Administration / Wikimedia Commons (Public domain)

What happened

Key facts

  • The FDA announced 17 voluntary nationwide recalls of Brush Buddies, evo and ARU toothpaste, totaling 4,301,700 tubes (per kcra.com).
  • Pritam International Private Limited initiated the recalls on September 10, according to kcra.com's federal-record account; wbiw.com says the initial recall began on September 10th (per kcra.com, wbiw.com).

The brief

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration announced 17 voluntary nationwide recalls covering 4,301,700 tubes of Brush Buddies, evo and ARU toothpaste. The agency cited deviations from current good manufacturing practice regulations. The recalled products span 17 varieties, including children’s character-themed and flavored toothpastes, along with whitening and value-pack products.

Pritam International Private Limited initiated the recalls on September 10, according to federal records described in the reporting. A separate account also places the initial recall on September 10th.

That account says the FDA later designated the action as Class II, a category in which exposure to affected products may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences. The toothpaste was manufactured in India by Pritam International Private Limited and distributed across the United States by Ashtel Studios Inc.

The products include character-themed varieties and formulas with flavors such as bubble gum and ice cream, as well as mint whitening and cavity-protection products. Their listed expiration dates range from November 2026 through June 2028. The FDA’s stated basis for the recalls was deviations from current good manufacturing practice regulations.

These federal rules are designed to ensure the identity, strength, quality and purity of drug products, according to the explanation in the recall report. Federal officials did not describe the specific defect, and the reporting does not identify a confirmed illness or injury linked to the products.

The agency’s Class II classification gives consumers a description of the possible health consequences, but it does not specify what exposure might entail for any particular product or lot. The reporting advises consumers to stop using toothpaste that matches the listed lot numbers.

The scope spans more than four million tubes distributed nationwide, making product and lot identification central to the recall notice. The reports emphasize different aspects of the action: one details the total number of tubes, product names, flavors and expiration range, while the other highlights the Class II designation and its description of possible health effects.

Together, the reported facts identify the regulator’s stated manufacturing-practice basis, the companies involved in manufacturing and distribution, and the potential consequence attached to the FDA classification. The coverage does not state the exact manufacturing deviation or identify affected lot numbers in its account.

Why it matters

  • U.S. consumers who bought the affected products face the immediate practical risk of continuing to use toothpaste covered by the recall; the FDA’s Class II classification describes possible temporary or medically reversible health consequences.
  • The recall covers 4,301,700 tubes across 17 varieties, including character-themed, flavored, whitening and value-pack toothpastes, and the listed expiration dates extend from November 2026 through June 2028.
  • Pritam International Private Limited manufactured the toothpaste in India, while Ashtel Studios Inc. distributed it in the United States, linking the recall to both the manufacturer and the domestic distributor.

What to watch next

  • Whether the FDA provides more detail about the specific current good manufacturing practice deviations cited as the recall basis.
  • Whether the FDA or the companies identify the affected lot numbers and connect them to particular product varieties.
  • Whether Pritam International Private Limited or Ashtel Studios Inc. issues additional consumer guidance beyond the advice to stop using matching products.

How it's being covered

Coverage analysisShow details
4 source articles · 4 unique outlets · 2 distinct reports
Outlet political mix: Center Only· 4 Center
Where the outlets are based: US/Canada 75% · Unknown 25%
Outlet political mix
Center Only
Left
Center
Right
0 outlets
4 outlets
0 outlets
The marker shows coverage balance: each unique outlet counts once.
Geography
Where the outlets covering this story are based.
4 unique outletsDominant coverage: US/Canada
Coverage imbalance
  • Coverage is currently concentrated among Center-rated outlets (4 of 4 rated sources); comparatively few Left or Right-rated outlets have published on the event.
  • Coverage is currently concentrated among outlets based in US/Canada (3 of 4 geographically-identified sources).
How we measure coverage

How outlets' accounts compare

1 framing difference · 1 uncorroborated claim · 2 information gaps
The reports repeat the same account with different emphasis; its central claims are not independently confirmed in the reporting Updat3 read.Compared across 2 reports whose article text Updat3 read.
Framing / emphasis differences
Sources emphasise different angles, actors or consequences of the same reporting.
  • KCRA's report foregrounds the 4,301,700-tube total and details product types and expiration dates; WBIW's report emphasizes the FDA's Class II designation and its description of possible health effects.
Updat3: These are differences of emphasis, not disputes about what is reported. They do not show that the reported claims are true.
One-sided or uncorroborated claims
Claims that come from one party or one source family and are not independently corroborated.
  • WBIW says the FDA classified the recall as Class II and describes the possible consequences as temporary or medically reversible.
Updat3: Not independently corroborated yet — treat as a claim, not an established fact.
Not established by the reporting
Information the available reporting does not contain or confirm. This is a gap, not a disagreement.
  • The reports do not identify the specific defect or provide the affected lot numbers in their accounts.
  • The specific manufacturing-practice deviation is not described, and the coverage does not identify a confirmed illness or injury linked to the products.
Updat3: Updat3 cannot conclude anything about this from the current sources.

Timeline

Developments from this story's sources, dated background we compiled and fact-checked, and our earlier coverage. Each row says which.
  1. President Theodore Roosevelt signed the Pure Food and Drugs Act, prohibiting interstate commerce in adulterated or misbranded foods and drugs.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  2. Congress adopted the name “Food and Drug Administration” for the agency.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  3. President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, expanding federal oversight of food, drugs and cosmetics.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  4. President John F. Kennedy signed the Kefauver-Harris Amendments, requiring evidence of drug effectiveness as well as safety.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  5. The FDA established procedures for voluntary recalls in 21 CFR Part 7.
    Background · compiled and fact-checked by Updat3
  6. Congress later revised the regulation of nonprescription drugs through the CARES Act, signed March 27, 2020, which established an administrative order process for over-the-counter drug monographs.
    Background · from our historical context

How we got here

The federal framework governing U.S. drug recalls predates the current toothpaste case: the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act of 1938 authorized federal oversight of drugs and cosmetics, and the FDA’s 1978 regulations in 21 CFR Part 7 set out procedures for voluntary recalls.

Those procedures distinguish recalls by the level of health risk; they do not require a company to wait for a final FDA determination before beginning a voluntary recall. The FDA’s current over-the-counter drug system grew out of the 1962 Kefauver-Harris Amendments, which strengthened federal requirements for drug safety, effectiveness and manufacturing.

Original sources

1 of 4 articles · Unknown · Show all

Every story links to the reporting it was built from. How we choose sources

Spotted a factual error, a broken link or a misleading summary? Tell us.